top container

Arrows Host Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament

On Sunday, February 17, St. Sebastian's hosted its Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament for students who are relatively new to debate.

Congratulations to Jack Flynn '22 and Aidan McCarthy '22 who each won a Speaker's Prize for their individual performance in the Tournament.

Over 200 students and faculty from 20 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament, making this our largest Novice Tournament ever:

Buckingham, Brown and Nichols School
Belmont Hill School
Choate Rosemary Hall
Commonwealth School
Ethel Walker School
Groton School
Hotchkiss School
Kingswood Oxford School
Loomis Chaffee School
Noble and Greenough School
Northfield Mt. Hermon School
Philips Andover Academy
Phillips Exeter Academy
Roxbury Latin School
St. Paul's School
St. Sebastian's School
Stoneleigh Burnham School
Tabor Academy
Winsor School
Worcester Academy

Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for helping with the Tournament. Thanks, too, to the following Senior, Junior and Sophomore Debate Team Leaders for organizing and running the Tournament:

James Esperne '19, Jake Babigian '20, Thomas Flatley '20, Aidan Garrity '20, Harry Karavolas '20, Patrick McDonald '20, Nathan Piecyk '20, Jeff Serowik '20, Timmy Williams '20, Alessandro Barbiellini '21, and Jack Hornyak '21