top container

St. Sebastian's Novice Debate Tournament

On Sunday, October 10, 2021, St. Sebastian's hosted our Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament for students who are relatively new to debate.​ This was our third home Tournament conducted entirely on Zoom.

Eight Arrow Debaters participated in the Tournament: Liam Burke '23, Gianluca Centola '24, Rui Do Rosario '24, Henry duBose '24, Cesar Hernandez '26, James Joyce '24, John Lynch '27, and Jeffrey Welham '26.

Congratulations to James Joyce '24 who won a Speaker's Prize for his outstanding individual performance in the Tournament.

Over 150 students and faculty from 17 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament:​

Buckingham, Brown and Nichols School​

Belmont Hill School​

Choate Rosemary Hall​

Commonwealth School​

Deerfield Academy

Groton School​

Hotchkiss School

Kingswood Oxford School

Loomis Chaffee School

Noble and Greenough School​

Phillips Andover Academy

St. Paul's School

St. Sebastian's School​

Taft School

Waynflete School

Winsor School

Worcester Academy

Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for assuring that the Tournament ran very smoothly. Thanks, too, to the following Senior and Junior Debate Team Leaders for judging, organizing, and running the Tournament: ​John Chisholm, Matthew Choumenkovitch, Tommy Cronin, Jack Flynn, Lars Gubitosi, Will Hansen, Michael Kalinichenko, Will McInerney, Eddie Ryan, Maxwell Surprenant and Paul White.