Skip To Main Content

top container

St. Sebastian's Hosts Invitational Novice Debate Tournament

On Sunday, October 13, 2019, St. Sebastian's hosted our Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament for students who are relatively new to debate. ​

​Congratulations to Tommy Cronin '22 and Cotter Walsh '22, who won Speaker's Prizes for their individual performance in the Tournament. ​

​Over 120 students and faculty from 12 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament:​

​Buckingham, Brown and Nichols School​
Belmont Hill School​
Choate Rosemary Hall​
Commonwealth School​
Deerfield Academy
Ethel Walker School​
Groton School​
Loomis Chaffee School​
Noble and Greenough School​
Northfield Mt. Hermon School​
Roxbury Latin School​
St. Sebastian's School​

​Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for helping with the Tournament. Thanks, too, to the following Senior, Junior and Sophomore Debate Team Leaders for organizing and running the Tournament: ​

​Jake Babigian '20, John Beam '20, Michael Farinacci '20, Aidan Garrity '20, Harry Karavolas '20, Patrick McDonald '20, Evan Prince '20, Jeff Serowik '20, Timmy Williams '20, Dennis Yandow '20, Alessandro Barbiellini '21, Cameron Howell '21, and Jack Flynn '22