top container

St. Sebastian's Hosts Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament

On Sunday, October 11, 2020, St. Sebastian's hosted our Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament for students who are relatively new to debate. ​This was our very first Tournament conducted entirely on Zoom.

Eight Arrow Debaters participated in the Tournament: Gianluca Centola '24, Brendan Fulham '24, Will Hansen '23, James Joyce '24, Teige Maguire '24, Eddie Ryan '23, Ben Scemama '24, and Ryan Williamson '23. 

Congratulations to James Joyce '24 who won a Speaker's Prize for his outstanding individual performance in the Tournament. ​

Over 120 students and faculty from 14 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament:​

Buckingham, Brown and Nichols School​
Belmont Hill School​
Choate Rosemary Hall​
Commonwealth School​
Deerfield Academy
Groton School​
Hotchkiss School
Noble and Greenough School​
Northfield Mt. Hermon School​
Phillips Andover Academy
Phillips Exeter Academy
St. Paul's School
St. Sebastian's School​
Winsor School

Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for assuring that the Tournament ran very smoothly. Thanks, too, to the following Senior Debate Team Leaders for judging, organizing and running the Tournament: ​Aidan Mulvey, Juan Oliva, and Sam Randall.