top container

St. Sebastian's Hosts Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Debate Tournament

On Sunday, February 16, 2020, St. Sebastian's hosted our Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Debate Tournament for students in both the Novice and Advanced Divisions.

Congratulations to Alessandro Barbiellini '21 and Colin Dowdle '23, who won Speaker's Prizes for their individual performance in the Tournament.

Over 150 students and faculty from 16 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament:​

Avon Old Farms School

Buckingham, Brown and Nichols School​

Belmont Hill School​

Choate Rosemary Hall​

Commonwealth School​

Deerfield Academy

Groton School

Hotchkiss School​

Loomis Chaffee School​

Milton Academy

Noble and Greenough School​

St. Paul's School

St. Sebastian's School​

Stoneleigh Burnham School

Tabor Academy

Worcester Academy

Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for helping with the Tournament. Thanks, too, to the following Senior and Junior Debate Team Leaders for organizing and running the Tournament: ​

Dylan Crandall '20, Michael Farinacci '20, Aidan Garrity '20, Harry Karavolas '20, Timmy Malloy '20, Patrick McDonald '20, Nathan Piecyk '20, Jeff Serowik '20, Timmy Williams '20, Dennis Yandow '20 , Joseph Hamilton '21, Jack Hornyak '21, Juan Oliva '21, and Sam Randall '21