top container

Seniors Celebrated at 2023 MPA Banquet

Seniors Celebrated at 2023 MPA Banquet

Family and friends of MPA gathered in Ward Hall to share in a wonderful meal and celebrate senior members at the annual Men with Positive Attitudes Banquet on Thursday, May 25. The evening began with a welcome from next year's MPA president, Jonathan Demosthene '24, and Clocks by Coldplay was sung by Derron St. Marie '24 accompanied by Dylan Lipof '24 and Perry Rassiger '24 on guitar. Fr. John Arens said grace and everyone helped themselves to a delicious meal prepared by the kitchen staff. Rui do Rosario '24, 2nd Vice-President 2022-23, gave the retiring officer reflection. Luis Sosa Espinal '25 recited the poem What is Brotherhood (Peter E. Terzick). The Brotherhood poem (Georgia Douglas Johnson) was read by Ryan Pat '25. The Brothers Poem (Sappho) was read by Daniel Yang '25. A number of underclassmen shared tributes to the departing seniors. 

Neal Carlson '24 introduced the guest speaker, Mr. Christian Walkes, a doctoral student at Harvard School of Education. Walkes gave an insightful speech titled, "Building a Better Brotherhood: Lessons from the Life and Times of James Weldon Johnson (1871-1938)." Johnson was an American writer and civil rights activist and a leader of the NAACP and notably wrote the lyrics for "Lift Every Voice and Sing", which later became known as the Black National Anthem.

Following the evening's address, the new officers video was shown which introduced each of the new MPA officers. Assistant Headmaster Michael Nerbonne gave senior recognitions and notes from each senior's memory box were read out loud by faculty members Mr. Trevor McLean, Mr. Ryan Moore, and Mr. Jeff Riemann and the boxes were then distributed to each senior. The evening closed with Fr. John Arens offering a traditional blessing upon the seniors. The members of MPA, past and present, congregated at the front of Ward Hall and joined together to sing, "Lift Every Voice and Sing." It was a special night for the seniors, their families, underclassmen and alumni who came back to campus for the event.

Thank you to Meyer and Beth Chambers, Jeff Riemann, Ryan Moore, and Trevor McLean, the MPA Parent Group, the staff, and everyone that helped make this event a success.

Congratulations to all of the senior members of MPA: Jordan Atkinson, Charles Bacon, John Boyle, Connor Bragdon, Luke Brassard, Christopher Condron, Robert Craven, John Daly, Matthew DeAnzeris, Jahki Deloach, Thomas Devlin, Scott Doherty, Ryan Donovan, Colin Dowdle, Connor Dumouchel, Ryan Fay, Albis Felix, George Flatley, Benjamin Garrity, Lars Gubitosi, John Hamilton, John Hayes, John Heeney, Samuel Hinman, John Lordi, Alex Lysko, Matthew Malloy, Thomas McAuliffe, Troy McCall, Jr., James McGuire, Andrew McNeil, Trevor Mullin, Quincy Pickett, Brett Porter, Alexander Roth, Mark Saradjian, Zion Simmons, Paul Tryder, John Volo, Hagan Ward, Edward Weiss, and Alex Yang