top container

Arrows Host Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Debate Tournament

Arrows Host Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Debate Tournament

On Sunday, February 11, 2024, St. Sebastian's hosted our Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Debate Tournament for both novice and advanced debaters.​

Ten Arrow Debaters participated in the Tournament: Cesar Hernandez '26, Samuel Li '26, Conor Sullivan '26, Jeffrey Welham '26, Ryan Connolly '27, Matteo Fainelli '27, Andrew MacDougall '27, Aiden Mack '27, Jack McRoskey '27, and Constantine Mitrokostas '27.

Congratulations to Conor Sullivan (Advanced) and Aiden Mack (Novice) who won a Speaker's Prize in their respective divisions.

Over 180 students and faculty from 19 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament:​

​Belmont Hill School
Buckingham, Browne, and Nichols School​
Commonwealth School
Deerfield Academy
Eaglebrook School
Governor's Academy
Hotchkiss School
Kingswood Oxford School
Loomis Chaffee School
Noble and Greenough School
Northfield Mount Hermon School
Phillips Andover Academy
Roxbury Latin School
St. Paul's School
St. Sebastian's School
Tabor Academy
Waynflete School
Winsor School
Worcester Academy

Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for assuring that the Tournament ran very smoothly, and to alumnus, former debater and faculty member, Attorney Michael Foley '09, who served as a judge in the Advanced Division.

Thanks, too, to the following Debate Team Leaders for judging, organizing, and running the Tournament: Raif Boit '24, Gianluca Centola '24, Jonathan Demosthene '24, Rui do Rosario '24, Henry duBose '24, Eddie Zhang '24, Liam Cunjak '25, Wachira Njoroge '26, Ben Osunsanya '26, and Cormac Anderson '27.