top container

St. Sebastian’s Hosts Novice Debate Tournament

St. Sebastian’s Hosts Novice Debate Tournament

On Sunday, October 8, 2023, St. Sebastian's hosted our Annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Novice Debate Tournament for students who are relatively new to debate.​

Eight Arrow Debaters participated in the Tournament: Ryan Connolly '27, Rohan Ghatge '28, Andrew MacDougall '27, Antonio Martinez '27, Tiernan Massenburg '26, Jimmy McNulty '27, Luke Puglia '27, and Cameron Steele '26.

Congratulations to Rohan Ghatge and Andrew MacDougall who won Speakers Prizes for their outstanding individual performance in the Tournament.

Over 170 students and faculty from 15 Independent Schools participated in the Tournament:​

Buckingham, Brown and Nichols School​

Belmont Hill School​

Choate Rosemary Hall​

Commonwealth School​

Deerfield Academy

Groton School​

Hotchkiss School

Kingswood Oxford School

Loomis Chaffee School

Noble and Greenough School​

Phillips Andover Academy

Phillips Exeter Academy

St. Paul's School

St. Sebastian's School​

Winsor School

Special thanks to Mr. Michael Deschenes, Mr. Jim Sullivan, and Mr. Richard Palmaccio for assuring that the Tournament ran very smoothly. Thanks, too, to the following Senior, Junior and Sophomore Debate Team Leaders for judging, organizing, and running the Tournament: George Addona, Raif Boit, Gianluca Centola, Jonathan Demosthene, Rui do Rosario, Henry duBose, James Joyce, Liam Cunjak, Daniel Yang and Wachira Njoroge.